Looking Ahead to the Future of My Career

The Field of Communication That I Find Most Interesting

Admin. (2023, March 1). Have a flair for words? A career in mass communication might. Institute for Career Studies. https://www.icscareergps.com/blog/latest-education-and-career-buzz/have-a-flair-for-words-a-career-in-mass-communication-might-be-an-ideal-fit/

I am most interested in the field of mass communication. Mass communication is a type of communication where messages are sent to large audiences. These messages are typically broadcast through mediums like radio, television, newspapers, magazines, the Internet, and other forms of digital formats. Those who work in this particular field are tasked with finding the best possible way to get a message across to broad audiences through these various mediums. The field of mass communication incorporates many different forms of communication. Verbal communication and health communication are very important factors in news media. Rhetoric is a huge part of the success and popularity of radio broadcasts and types of print media. Non-verbal communication is an important element of visual mediums such as social media. All of these forms of communication are dissected, analyzed, and implemented by those who work in mass media. I am interested in mass communication especially because I am a film production major.

What Should Be Included In A Portfolio?

It’s important to include certain things in a portfolio in order to gain the interest of an HR manager. You need to include evidence that proves you have the skills to do the job that you are applying for. College degrees, certificates. and past work experience are great pieces of evidence that HR managers will take note of. You should also include some of your previous work that is representative of your capabilities. This gives HR managers a chance to see the quality and type of work that they are able to produce. Recommendation letters from past employers and professors also help. One of the most important parts of the portfolio is the resume.

My Resume

This is the latest version of my resume. I’ve included basic contact info at the top including my email, phone number, and address. In the skills section, I separated my skills into two different categories. The first category consists of 5 skills that are general in nature. The second category includes tangible skills, all of which are technology-based. Below the skills section, I’ve listed my work experience. Since I’ve only had one job, I’ve listed it in order to provide proof that I can commit to a job over an extended period of time. I also provided brief descriptions of my role at that job along with a brief endorsement that could be verified if an HR manager contacts my former employer. Under education, I listed my high school education along with my college education, which is currently in progress. Once I graduate from college, I will remove my high school education because it wouldn’t be necessary any longer. I have also noted under education that I have been on the dean’s list for every semester of my college career to show continued academic achievement. I kept my resume brief and made sure to include only what I feel is necessary. I feel it’s important to keep the formatting consistent and not leave too much empty space. I also reviewed my resume multiple times to avoid spelling errors.

Companies That I Would Be Interested in Working For

I would like to work for the CBS Corporation. They are one of the titans of mass communication and mass media. CBS is mainly focused on Television and Radio. The Television side of CBS includes a wide variety of content. I feel like it would be a great place to begin a career and try to work up the ladder and advance. I could do various things at the CBS Corporation with my skills. I would probably focus on becoming an assistant editor at first since I’m proficient in the Adobe Creative Suite. I have experience doing assistant editing for 3 different editing classes in college. An assistant editor is basically someone who logs and organizes footage for editors. I also have experience using editing software like Avid Media Composer and Davinci Resolve.

The second place that I would consider working for is Time Warner. I would specifically prefer to work for HBO or Warner Bros. Entertainment. Both of these are considered divisions of Time Warner. I think that both of these divisions produce quality content that I would like to have a hand in creating. I would start to work as a production assistant or a trainee assistant director. I have experience on student film sets that lend the work of a production assistant, which is essentially an entry-level job that requires no degree. I also have experience directing actors on my thesis film shoot. A trainee assistant director works with the assistant directors on film shoots and mostly deals with background talent.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started